PDA

View Full Version : Slow day at work. What do [i]YOU[/i] do?

cleatus12r
Tue, August 11th, 2009, 01:17 PM
Well.....................

Here is another outstanding Tuesday that brings a whole lot of nothing through the door. :shrug: For those who don't know, I'm a Chevrolet dealer technician. :throwup: I've been doing this for a decade now and this is definitely a time where I constantly think about finding another line of work. Therein lies a problem; most other lines of work aren't hiring. :(

I have tried (albeit not too wholeheartedly :whistle1: ) to find other avenues of employment. From construction to postal work (Yeah, I've got guns!). I recently took my written tests for my commercial drivers' license because I was indirectly offered a potential job with the County road and bridge department. However, their offices and the County commissioners put a freeze on wages and new hires........argh. So here I sit with a learner's CDL with 3 endorsements and no truck to drive. :censored1:

I have grown accustomed to my pay here. It's pretty good considering that I am probably the highest-paid oil change monkey in the state. :hehe: Technical (and more importantly electrical) work has declined to the point where the most electronic/wiring repairs I make are the installation of brake controllers and trailer plugs. I can't even find a 4L60-E to work on; those used to be my bread and butter.....and I got really fat on them. :drool2: