PDA

View Full Version : Gear change

lawrenr2001
Tue, February 17th, 2009, 10:57 PM
I am located in the Dallas/Ft Worth area of Texas and I am looking the have my truck re geared (I have 3:55LS with 35 tires and need or want 4:56s). I have called a couple of 4 wheel drive places, but, man do they want a lot of money ($1000 labor even if I provide parts) to do it. My question is, because I am new to having this done, does this seem standard or can someone steer me to a reputable shop that would be more reasonable (I'm not cheap, just poor). Any help here would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Robert

JWBFX4
Tue, February 17th, 2009, 11:13 PM
Im not sure but I think most places around here get between 1200 and 1500 installed, with them supplying the parts.

edit: That figure is for a 4x4

seeleyra
Wed, February 18th, 2009, 06:17 AM
I had the same issue as yourself. I purchased the gears and it still cost me a 975 to have the them put in. I will say though that the price was worth every dime!

Grabber523
Wed, February 18th, 2009, 12:12 PM
I was quoted $1200-1400 parts and labor from a reputable 4x4 shop. However, when I had my 3.73s put in the Stang I had the dealership do it, and got the "fist of fury"...$500 just for the install, I supplied the parts, even shims!

cleatus12r
Wed, February 18th, 2009, 12:41 PM
I have performed a lot of differential repairs and gear swaps. I will tell you that it is worth EVERY dime you spend to have someone do it....even if it costs $1000. To do it with no knowledge is asking for a repeat repair....maybe even a couple times and having to buy new parts every time. It's a labor-intensive, almost exacting science to do it RIGHT.

lawrenr2001
Wed, February 18th, 2009, 02:38 PM