Power Hungry Performance Forum

Power Hungry Performance Forum (http://forum.gopowerhungry.com/forum/index.php)
-   1999 to 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel (http://forum.gopowerhungry.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Dyno Question (http://forum.gopowerhungry.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6821)

krtillison Mon, July 18th, 2011 04:47 PM

Dyno Question

I've got a chance to dyno my truck this week at school. The teahcer has never dynoed a diesel. I need to know where the engine's tach signal comes from, and how this is read by the dyno. Any help would be awesome since I have no experience with a chassis dyno.

cleatus12r Mon, July 18th, 2011 06:31 PM

Optical pickup will be your best option if there's no way to calibrate the dyno roller speed to the engine RPM.

Power Hungry Tue, July 19th, 2011 11:04 AM

1 Attachment(s)
On a Super Duty, you can also use the inductive coil pickup on one of the injector lines. The passenger side harness was usually the easiest to access. Look for any of the BROWN wires with a colored stripe. (See attached image) These are the injector power leads. The black ones on the end are the grounds. The big lead in the middle is the glow plug power. You may need to strip back a little of the loom and tape to get enough access to the leads, but this usually works quite well.

The OBS trucks are not too different, but they usually have a lower voltage output and often will not generate enough EMF for the inductive pickup to register a valid signal. You can try it, though.

Good luck! :D

krtillison Tue, July 19th, 2011 12:41 PM

Thanks alot Bill and Cody. This was extremely helpful. Truck should be on the rollers tomorrow!

krtillison Thu, July 21st, 2011 07:24 PM

‪Kyle's Powerstroke on the chasis dyno 3‬‏ - YouTube