Power Hungry Performance Forum  

Go Back   Power Hungry Performance Forum > Ford Super Duty & Excursion > 1999 to 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel

1999 to 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel equipped Super Duty and Excursion

Old Mon, July 18th, 2011, 04:47 PM
Whopper

krtillison is on a distinguished road
Default Dyno Question

I've got a chance to dyno my truck this week at school. The teahcer has never dynoed a diesel. I need to know where the engine's tach signal comes from, and how this is read by the dyno. Any help would be awesome since I have no experience with a chassis dyno.
Old Mon, July 18th, 2011, 06:31 PM
F Your Yankee Blue Jeans

cleatus12r is a name known to allcleatus12r is a name known to allcleatus12r is a name known to allcleatus12r is a name known to allcleatus12r is a name known to allcleatus12r is a name known to all

Optical pickup will be your best option if there's no way to calibrate the dyno roller speed to the engine RPM.
Old Tue, July 19th, 2011, 11:04 AM
The Godfather of Power Stroke Tuning

Power Hungry has much to be proud ofPower Hungry has much to be proud ofPower Hungry has much to be proud ofPower Hungry has much to be proud ofPower Hungry has much to be proud ofPower Hungry has much to be proud ofPower Hungry has much to be proud ofPower Hungry has much to be proud of

On a Super Duty, you can also use the inductive coil pickup on one of the injector lines. The passenger side harness was usually the easiest to access. Look for any of the BROWN wires with a colored stripe. (See attached image) These are the injector power leads. The black ones on the end are the grounds. The big lead in the middle is the glow plug power. You may need to strip back a little of the loom and tape to get enough access to the leads, but this usually works quite well.