Power Hungry Performance Forum  

Go Back   Power Hungry Performance Forum > Everything Else > The Conversation Pit

The Conversation Pit This is where EVERYTHING else goes. No subject is too mundane. How's the weather in your area? Did your kid cut his first tooth? Really, what do you think about the President? And don't get me started on Cummins and Duramaxes. Have at it!

Closed Thread

Old Tue, February 17th, 2009, 10:57 PM
lawrenr2001

lawrenr2001 is on a distinguished road
Default Gear change

I am located in the Dallas/Ft Worth area of Texas and I am looking the have my truck re geared (I have 3:55LS with 35 tires and need or want 4:56s). I have called a couple of 4 wheel drive places, but, man do they want a lot of money ($1000 labor even if I provide parts) to do it. My question is, because I am new to having this done, does this seem standard or can someone steer me to a reputable shop that would be more reasonable (I'm not cheap, just poor). Any help here would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Robert
Old Tue, February 17th, 2009, 11:13 PM
Triple Whopper with Cheese

JWBFX4 is on a distinguished road

Im not sure but I think most places around here get between 1200 and 1500 installed, with them supplying the parts.

edit: That figure is for a 4x4
Old Wed, February 18th, 2009, 06:17 AM
Googlemiester

seeleyra is on a distinguished road

I had the same issue as yourself. I purchased the gears and it still cost me a 975 to have the them put in. I will say though that the price was worth every dime!
Old Wed, February 18th, 2009, 12:12 PM
Your Mom's favorite :D

Grabber523 is on a distinguished road

I was quoted $1200-1400 parts and labor from a reputable 4x4 shop. However, when I had my 3.73s put in the Stang I had the dealership do it, and got the "fist of fury"...$500 just for the install, I supplied the parts, even shims!
Old Wed, February 18th, 2009, 12:41 PM
F Your Yankee Blue Jeans