Power Hungry Performance Forum  

Go Back   Power Hungry Performance Forum > Power Hungry Performance Product Information > Upgrade your Evo

Upgrade your Evo Upgrade your Edge Evolution to a Gryphon Programmer to allow for custom tuning and additional functionality.

Due to issues with the cable failures due to incompatible versions of firmware, we do not offer upgrades
or tuning for the 1997-2003 F-Series gas or 7.3L diesel trucks. We recommend using another platform.

Old Tue, March 22nd, 2011, 10:56 AM
rough n ready

cowboy is on a distinguished road
Default What exactly is a gryphon upgrade.

So what exactly is a gryphon upgrade? Currently I'm a computer programmer, and have in the past was a chip based programmer, so that is why the curiosity.

I mean is it a new chip with your custom code, or do you just reflash the existing chip in the programmer with your code? I know some of it may be sensitive so a simple yes or no will do if you can't fully explain.

Now I have a stock evo. The only performance mod I've done right now is the Gotts mod with plans to add efans, underdrive pulleys, exhaust and others as time come. Is it worth it to wait for all that to be done or should I change the evo to the gryphon before hand?

I normally run 89, and and plan on doing some towing down the road, I was thinking 89 performance, and 93 tow tunes, what are your thoughts?
Old Wed, March 23rd, 2011, 08:40 AM
Forum Predator

Longshot270 will become famous soon enough

It is taking a basic Edge unit, reprogramming it, recasing it in some situations and sending it back with the improved canned tunes, other improved functions and the ability to accept custom tunes.

If you have a '97-'03 and a monochrome Edge you can't upgrade. PHP no longer upgrades those programmers because of a cable issue.

The CS and CTS, however, can still be used on those trucks.

You can upgrade at any time and put your order in line for custom tunes.
Old Wed, March 23rd, 2011, 08:43 AM
rough n ready