Power Hungry Performance Forum  

Go Back   Power Hungry Performance Forum > Power Hungry Performance Product Information > Gryphon Programmer

Gryphon Programmer Edge Product has discontinued the Edge Evolution 2, but we still provide support and tuning for it.

If you have a question or comment relating the Gryphon (or Evolution) programmer, post it here.

Old Sun, September 18th, 2011, 10:17 AM
Whopper Junior

stanleyz is on a distinguished road
Default I'M CONFUSED, BUT THAT'S NOT UNUSUAL

Hi, newby here. I've been hanging on FTE for 10 years and 2 trucks, but I just found you guys. I recently came upon an Edge racing evolution, model 15500 at a great price and bought it. My truck is an 08 6.4L F350 DRW. I tow a 17,000 lb 5th wheel. Tuner is installed and works great on level 1 (35HP/150TQ) but I am reluctant to tow with it. The total load for towing is 25,000 lbs truck and trailer.

Is my Evo the same as a Gryphon? If not, can it be reprogrammed? Can it be custom tuned either as is, or after reprogramming. I plan no further mods. I would like a mild driver tune and heavy towing tune. I do not seek earth shaking speed or 5 MPG increase. Thanks.
Old Sun, September 18th, 2011, 11:39 PM
Grown-up in training!

ticopowell will become famous soon enough

An evo is not the same as a gryphon, but they are close. The edge racing evolution cannot be made into a gryphon, but an edge cs or cts can be made into a gryphon.
The difference is that Gryphons can have custom tunes written for you and your style of driving, your altitude, and what you use the truck for... other than that they do the same thing as an Evo, only they do it better
For towing, I would think that the level 1 tune would work fine, just keep an eye on the EGTs, if you don't have a monitor for that, I would get one asap to make sure you don't hurt your truck
Old Mon, September 19th, 2011, 09:05 AM
F Your Yankee Blue Jeans