Power Hungry Performance Forum  

Go Back   Power Hungry Performance Forum > Ford Super Duty & Excursion > 1994½ to 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel

1994½ to 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel equipped F-Series and F-Super Duty

Old Tue, October 26th, 2010, 03:17 PM
Whopper Junior

surreyboy is on a distinguished road
Help pulling power ?

hey every one , im new to the whole diesel world here & have been reading other peoples threads . what is the difference between a tuner & a chip ?
i have a 97 f250 HD 4X4 5spd with 360,000 kms. the truck runs great , i would like more power for pulling my trailer up hills & through the mountains . the only mods on the truck are intake , 3" down into 4" strait & a set of 315/75/16s what would you guys suggest be the best way to go ? i would like to have as much power as possible under my foot for when i do need it BUT i dont want to start breaking things either
a guy told me the best way to go would be a pre burnt chip , just plug in & go ? i know nothing about chips or tuners or good brands to get

thanx every one for the help & advice , its much appreciated
Old Tue, October 26th, 2010, 11:36 PM
Tuner novice

F-127 is on a distinguished road

Gauges are always a good idea because then you can 'know' that you're not pushing your truck too far as opposed to 'hoping' you're not pushing it too far. The main difference between programmers and chips are that most programmers have 'canned' tunes and most chips have 'custom' tunes for your vehicle. Custom tunes are vehicle specific(ie. tuned for a 94-97 7.3L manual) while canned tunes are not vehicle specific(ie. all 94-03 7.3L). Chips also allow switch on the fly functionality.

Expect to see a max gain of around 65HP for a 97 with stock injectors when using custom tunes on a chip. By golly PHP offers custom tuned 6-position chips. You've come to the right place!