Power Hungry Performance Forum  

Go Back   Power Hungry Performance Forum > Ford F-150, Expedition, Navigator, Blackwood, Mark-LT, SVT Lightning and H-D Editions > 1997 to 2003 F-150

1997 to 2003 F-150 4.2L, 4.6L, and 5.4L equipped F-150s

Old Sat, February 20th, 2010, 08:04 AM
Whopper

Bigwheel is on a distinguished road
Default SCT X3 vs Gryphon

Hey Everyone,

I,m in information overload. I've already read every sticky, post, thread and used search engines on this forum, F150online and F150forum. After all that I've narrowed my choices down to the two programmers in my title. Right now the only modification I should have in place within the next week is true dual Magnaflow exhaust. I will be adding a CAI so will need custom tunes. If I have my facts right, which I hope you will confirm or correct, then I can proceed with my choice and order. By the way I'm not an engineer or mechanic, will not be racing or towing and frankly do not need many bells and whistles. I'm simply trying to maximize performance for daily driving both interstate & city.

Both X3 & Gryphon ....
* costs $399 + $30 per custom tune
* come with canned tunes to use until custom are ready
* both can receive upgrades via e-mail or online support

If all things are equal I'm thinking the Gryphon is the most for the money. Am I on the right track? I know this is way over simplified but this is already long enough. I'm just trying to figure out if they cost the same which to choose. My only concern about onboard Gryphon is it getting stolen. At least with the SCT I can keep it in a safe place away from the truck and out of site.

Thoughts?
Old Sat, February 20th, 2010, 08:35 AM
Forum Predator

Longshot270 will become famous soon enough