Power Hungry Performance Forum  

Go Back   Power Hungry Performance Forum > Power Hungry Performance Product Information > Upgrade your Evo

Upgrade your Evo Upgrade your Edge Evolution to a Gryphon Programmer to allow for custom tuning and additional functionality.

Due to issues with the cable failures due to incompatible versions of firmware, we do not offer upgrades
or tuning for the 1997-2003 F-Series gas or 7.3L diesel trucks. We recommend using another platform.

Old Sun, February 28th, 2010, 01:06 PM
Double Whopper

F-1Fizzy is on a distinguished road
Help Looking to do the upgrade

hi...i am new to the site and i am looking to do the upgrade on my evo to make it a gryphon...i just have a few questions on what to do and what i need,etc...

ok well first my truck is a 2004 f150 FX4 with a 5.4L engine(newer body)
i have a Flowmaster Super44 muffler installed and recently installed a KandN CAI on it along with my Edge Evo programmer.

So im looking to do the upgrade from Evo to Gryphon bc of all the stories ive heard about running lean and other issues with a CAI.
Now what i need to know is when placing the order for the upgrade and the tunes what do i need to put down? I know it comes with 3 preset Tunes on the programmer but, to have it custom for the CAI to run properly what has to be done next? do i need to order a custom tune for each power level i want so it will work with the CAI? or? if so how much is it for the tunes i would need?
bc i would imagine wanting to have the 3 power levels that come stock on the unit being able to work with my mods on my truck...what has to be done?

any and all info that can be given to me is appreciate...thanks
Old Sun, February 28th, 2010, 03:44 PM
Gryphon CTS

shotgun will become famous soon enough

You will need a custom tune for each octane and power level you want.

Most people have these:
1. 87 octane performance
2. 87 towing (for towing anything heavier than 2500 lbs)
3. 91/93 performance